i1 Super Series drivers!

We have had final confirmation of the drivers to be taking part in the inaugural i1 super series!

We decided to split the drivers up into three categories to make it easier for you guys to read;
  • F1 or Ex-F1 drivers
  • Other international level drivers (for drivers in an international race series, not including F1)
  • National level drivers (for drivers in a national racing series)
For everyone except the Ex-F1 boys we have put what they did in 2011 in brackets to give you some idea of their background.

Some of you will have noticed that this list contains 30 drivers even though there are only 18 driver spots on the grid. The way we expect this to work is for every team to have one permanent driver from the F1 pool and then the international/nations will rotate as teammates.

F1/Ex-F1 drivers:
Malaysia Alex Yoong (Ex-F1): Minardi
Italy Giancarlo Fisichella (2011 Ferrari reserve driver)
Germany Heinz-Harald Frentzen (Ex-F1): Sauber, Williams, Jordan, Prost, Arrows
Canada Jacques Villeneuve (Ex-F1): Williams, BAR, Renault, Sauber, BMW Sauber
French Jean Alesi (Ex-F1): Tyrrell, Ferrari, Benetton, Sauber, Prost, Jordan
India Karun Chandhok (2011 Team Lotus reserve driver)
Finland Mika Salo (Ex-F1): Lotus, Tyrrell, Arrows, BAR, Ferrari, Sauber, Toyota
Japan Sakon Yamamoto (2011 Virgin reserve driver)
Italy Vitantonio Liuzzi (2011 HRT driver)

Other international level drivers:
India Aditya Patel (Volkswagen Scirocco R-Cup)
India Akhil Khushlani (JK Racing Asia Series)
India Armaan Ebrahim (F2)
Switzerland Cyndie Allemann (GT racing)
Austria Mathias Lauda (DTM)
Switzerland Neel Jani (24hours of Le Mans)
India Parth Ghorpade (French F4)
India Parthiva Sureswaren (F2)
India Phiroze Billimoria (GT and Sportscar racing)
Great Britain Pippa Mann (Indycar)
India Raj Bharath (JK Racing Asia Series)
India Sailesh Bolisetti (Volkswagen Scirocco R-Cup)
India Vishnu Prasad (JK Racing Asia Series)
India Zaamin Jaffer (BARC Formula Renault)

National level drivers:
United States Abdul Ahmed (Formula Ford 1600 Walter Hayes Trophy)
India Ameya Walavalkar (JK Tyre National Racing Championship)
India Amittrajit Ghosh (JK Tyre National Racing Championship)
India Ashwin Sundar (MRF Formula 1600)
India Chirag Malhotra (Formula Renault Winter Cup)
India Gaurav Dalal (JK Tyre National Racing Championship)
India Sahil Shelar (Volkswagen Polo Cup)

There are a number of pieces of news coming from the i1 super series in recent days so if sure you will be delighted to know that over the coming days Auto India Sports will be creating a dedicated page for the i1 super series, look out for that! =)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.