i1 Supercar Championship

Machdar Motorsports Pvt. Ltd. have announced preliminary information about a new series to be created called the i1 Supercar Championship. The championship will be held across Asia with lots of Indian motorsport talent expected to be involved.

Cricket stars Sachin Tendulkar and Yuvraj Singh are also expected to be involved with the series in administrative positions.

Here is the info we have so far (please note, everything is unconfirmed at this stage):

Everyone will run Radical SR3 sportscars and teams are being asked, by invitation only, to take part. The cost of the series is $5M minimum (Rs.223.5M).

A host of drivers have been rumored to be taking part including: Giancarlo Fisichella, Heikki Kovalainen, Jarno Trulli, Mika Hakkinen, Ralf Schumacher and Vitantonio Liuzzi.

As for Indian drivers: Armaan Ebrahim, Karun Chandhok, Narain Karthikeyan and Parthiva Sureshwaren are all expected to be included.

The proposed calendar is as follows:

1) New Delhi (18th December 2011)
2) Abu Dhabi (8th January 2012)
3) Doha (15th January 2012)
4) Dubai (22nd January 2012)
5) Kuala Lumpur (5th February 2012)
6) Pattaya (12th February 2012)
7) Chennai or New Delhi (25th February 2012)

Race weekends are expected to consist of one qualifying session followed by two races.

If this turns out to actually happen it will be great news! As soon as we get more info you guys will be the first to know =)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.